I’M VINTAGE!

So I’m checking out my Facebook feed today and see a great photo posted by Jennifer Perkins from The Naughty Secretary Club. Her post is about making ice cream cone ornaments and I thought to myself “Wow isn’t this great, I remember a tree my mom decorated for me when I was a kid. This really brings back great memories.”

So I clicked on the link and low and behold – there staring back at me was me!

Jennifer had posted a photo she was inspired by from a 1961 issue of Better Homes and Gardens. Yep – that’s me in the photo! I’m vintage!

Because of Mom’s business (Aleene’s Tacky Glue) her designers would decorate our home every July so that the Aleene’s customers could tour our home and get ideas to take back to their stores for Christmas. Was this the start to Christmas in July – I don’t know!

Each of my brothers and sisters and I had our “assignments” to stand in our rooms while the customers toured the house.  We would have to describe to them how the crafts were made. (Yes, I think it was called child labor.)  Actually, this is where I got my first taste and passion for hard-core crafting and understanding how exciting crafting was for so many.

Besides being absolutely in love with my ice cream cone tree and crazy for that poodle on the floor, all I can tell you was that as a kid, it was really confusing to have Christmas in July and in December!

Thanks Jennifer for giving me some good memories and a good laugh today!

Here’s the link to Jennifer’s contemporary take on a vintage classic!

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafty Stuff, Tiffany Windsor

Leave a Reply

